top of page

WANG JIAN • FLOWING SLEEVES (Joyce Koh’s New Work Comissioned by SSO)

Esplanade Concert Hall 15 Aug 2019 (Th) 7:30 PM Standard Tickets at SGD88, SGD68, SGD48, SGD38, SGD28, SGD15 Pre-concert Talk: 6.30 PM at library@esplanade

FEATURING Jessica Cottis, conductor Wang Jian, cello


JOYCE KOH – one point six one eight zero (SSO Commission) ZHOU TIAN – Cello Concerto “Flowing Sleeves”

– Intermission/Autograph Session –

DVOŘÁK – Symphony No. 8 in G major, Op. 88

Brush. Lift. Reflect. Dance. Words that infuse Flowing Sleeves, an expressive cello concerto inspired by Chinese operatic dance, written by American-Chinese composer Zhou Tian in collaboration with renowned cellist Wang Jian. Up-and-coming Australian-British conductor Jessica Cottis directs this Singapore premiere, a new work by Singaporean composer Joyce Koh (no prizes for guessing what mathematical term her title refers to) as well as Dvořák’s tuneful and optimistic Eighth Symphony.

Photo of Zhou Tian from Zhou Tian’s website. Photo credit: Zhou Mingzhao.



bottom of page