top of page

OpusNovus: Lichtbogen

Online at YSTCM YouTube Channel 16 Oct 2020 (F) 7:30 PM

OpusNovus Conductor: LIEN Boon Hua (CSS Associate Member)


Kaija SAARIAHO – Lichtbogen (1986), Emily KOH (CSS Full Member)trans-[migra].nation (2010) Paul HINDEMITH – Kammermusik Op. 24, No. 1 (1922)


OpusNovus (Yong Siew Toh Conservatory‘s new music ensemble) presents an eclectic programme of three trailblazing composers of their times who broke free from traditions and sought out new artistic directions in their works. Kaija SAARIAHO, one of Finland’s leading composers today, opens the concert with her evocative work Lichtbogen (1986). The title was inspired by the Northern Lights, and it marks her foray into new compositional territories at the famous Institut de Recherche et Coordination Acoustique/Musique (IRCAM) in Paris, a groundbreaking research lab where cutting edge technology meets music.

Singaporean composer Emily KOH is currently Assistant Professor of Composition at the University of Georgia, and also a proud alumnus from YST. Her work trans-[migra].nation (2010) was written in memory of Dr. Steven BAXTER, our Founding Director of YST and this year marks the 10th anniversary of his passing.

Lastly, Paul HINDEMITH‘s Kammermusik No. 1, op. 24 (1922) marks an impressive entrance of the enfant terrible of German music at the famous Donaueschingen Music Festival, where he challenges his traditions and broke new grounds by combining machine-like insistent rhythms, popular dance music, and even sardonic humor, such as closing the work with a police siren!

This event will be livestreamed on YSTCM YouTube Channel.

1 view


bottom of page