top of page

3rd International Competition of Electronic Music Iannis Xenakis

The organisers of the International Competition of Electronic Music Iannis Xenakis have announced the 3rd edition. This edition is a very special one, since it will coincide with the 20th death anniversary of Xenakis.


  • The competition is anonymous and open to composers of any nationality and age, each of whom may submit only one work.

  • Past winners of previous Xenakis competitions cannot participate to the 2020 competition.

  • The submitted work shall be an electroacoustic composition to be diffused by loudspeakers without the use of live sound interventions.

  • Max channel count: 8

  • Work duration: 7-15 min

  • The submitted work may have been performed in concerts but should not be the object of any discographic publication rights.

Deadline: 1 Jan 2021 (F) Application Fee: EUR15 (link below for payment details)

The Jury will select and mention the 5 highest quality works and will award three of them with prizes of EUR600. EUR400 and EUR300 respectively. Contemporary Music Lab will present these pieces in a concert in September of 2021. The chair of the jury will be present there for this special event.

How to Submit

  • Please submit a single zip file containing the following files inside a single folder:

    1. A short biography, contact information and information about the piece in the following formats: (.doc, .txt, .rtf or .pdf).

    2. 1 Audio file (.aiff or .wav format, 16bit or 24bit at 44,1kHz sampling rate) containing the stereo version of the piece.

    3. Additionally, for multichannel pieces the audio files corresponding to each of the channels inside a separate folder along with set-up/routing information on a separate sheet

    4. Please include also the pdf receipt of the fee payment

  • Please name the ZIP file as following: IX2020_Name_Surname_TitleOfThePiece (e.g. IX2018_Nick_Edison_Title).

  • Fill in the application form at the organisers’ website (link below)

By entering his/her work in the competition, the composer consents to public performances free of charge of his/her work in concerts and/or radio broadcasting. The composer retains the copyright of his/her work. The files entered in the competition shall remain in the archives of Contemporary Music Lab of Aristotle University of Thessaloniki.


Annette Vande Gorne (BE) – Chair Manuella Blackburn (UK) Gilles Gobeil (CA) Damian Gorandi (AR/FR) Panayiotis Kokoras (GR/US)


For enquiries, please contact the organisers at xenakis[at]auth[dot]gr .

1 view


bottom of page